1. Who is administering the CRAG Program?
State vendor, National Development Council (NDC) will administer the Program. If you apply, please be on the look out for calls and emails from NDC staff.
2. Who should I contact with questions?
For general questions about the CRAG Program please submit your inquiries at:
For media inquires please contact:
Office of the State Treasurer
Gregory R. Bortolin
Director of Communications
Governor's Office of Economic Development
3. Who is eligible for the CRAG Program?
To be eligible for the Grant, an applicant must meet ALL of the following criteria:
♦ Be a for-profit business or a non-profit entity with Nevada as its principal place of business;
♦ Must have all required State and local business licenses (all must be active and in good standing);
♦ Be in operation with 50 or fewer full-time employees;
♦ Have been in operation in Nevada for at least 6-months prior to March 1, 2020;
♦ Demonstrate at least a 30% loss of gross monthly revenue after March 1, 2020 as a direct result of the COVID-19 pandemic;
♦ Have a physical commercial location (no home-based businesses) with a current, active commercial lease in the state of Nevada;
♦Updated 8/31/2020: All entities who have received PPP or similar funding (in any amount) are eligible to participate in CRAG; however funding will be awarded first to those entities who did not receive PPP or other forms of assistance in excess of $5,000.
♦ Must not have any outstanding federal, state or county tax liens.
4. Who is NOT eligible for this Grant Program?
♦ Businesses who operate entities illegal under federal law (including cannabis businesses and brothels) are not eligible to participate in the Grant Program as well as home-based businesses.
5. I own several businesses in the State of Nevada, should I submit an application for each location?
The State of Nevada will accept one application per EIN. If more than one submission is received per EIN, the review of your application will be significantly delayed.
6. I have a home-based business, can I apply?
No. A business must have a physical commercial location to apply.
7. How are full-time employees calculated?
A full-time equivalent employee is determined by adding the hours of part-time employees on a monthly basis and dividing by 120 [IRC Section 4980H(c)(2)(E)].
For instance, if an employee works:
• 5 hours/week = 0.167 FTE
• 10 hours/week = 0.333 FTE
• 15 hours/week = 0.500 FTE
• 20 hours/week = 0.667 FTE
• 25 hours/week = 0.833 FTE
• 30 hours/week = 1.000 FTE
8. Where is the application?
To access the application go to: Commercial Rental Assistance Grant (CRAG) Program.
9. What is the application process?
After the application period closes, State vendor NDC will begin reaching out to applicants that have successfully completed the application. Applicants will be required to provide NDC with documents within 1 week (7 days) of NDC’s initial contact requesting documents. NDC will review applications in order of priority as described below.
After receipt of all required documents, applicants will receive notice of approval/rejection. Once an applicant is deemed eligible and approved for funding, NDC will contact applicant landlord directly to verify information, sign grant agreement and send payment.
10. Is my landlord required to participate?
Yes. Applicants should work with their landlords early in the application process, as landlords will be required to accept grant funds on behalf of an applicant.
11. Is my landlord required to waive an eviction?
Yes. Landlords who receive grant funds must agree not to begin eviction proceedings within 90 days of the receipt of funds or, as applicable, cancel any existing eviction proceedings against applicant.
12. What documents are required to prove eligibility?
If deemed initially eligible, applicants will be asked to provide copies of the following documents:
• Current active lease/rental agreement;
• Documentation of most recent lease/rental payment;
• Landlord contact information;
• Landlord Acknowledgement (must be notarized);
• W-9 Request for taxpayer Identification Number and Certification Copy of active business license(s) OR certificate of Incorporation in Nevada as nonprofit- 501(c)(3), or 501(c)(7);
• Nevada State Business License and copies of all local licenses;
• W-2 or payroll schedule;
• Partnership agreement / Articles of Incorporation or other relevant organization documents
• Hardship Statement (including 2020 financials):
• Summary of business operations prior to C0VID-19 and impact of COVID-19 pandemic on business operations, including 2020 financials
• Profit & Loss statement for 4-week period within 12 months of application date (period will determine baseline for revenue loss calculation)
• Profit & Loss statement for the 4-week period of revenue loss (after March 1, 2020)
• Copy of photo I.D.
• Certification of Prioritization Eligibility (if applicable)
13. Who will contact me after I submit my application?
State vendor National Development Council (NDC) will administer the CRAG Program on behalf of the State. Be on the look out for correspondence from NDC after applications close.
14. When is the application deadline? Updated 8/31/2020
Applications will be accepted online beginning on August 24 at 8am PST. The application period will close on September 8 at 5pm PST.
15. How do I submit an application?
Applications must be submitted through ZoomGrants at the following link: https://goed.nv.gov/commercial-rental-assistance-grant-crag-program/
16. How are applications prioritized? Updated 8/31/2020
After the close of the application period, and to the extent funding is available, completed applications will be prioritized in the following order:
• Disadvantaged Business Enterprises, or non-profit entities who have lost 50% or more in revenues from previous year;
• Business who have lost 50% or more in revenues from previous year;
• Disadvantaged Business Enterprises, or non-profit entities who have lost less than 50%, but more than 40% in revenues from previous year;
• Business who have lost less than 50% but more than 40% in revenues from previous year;
• Disadvantaged Business Enterprises, or non-profit entities who have lost between 40% and 30% in revenues from previous year;
• Business who have lost between 40% and 30% in revenues from previous year;
• Disadvantaged Business Enterprises, or non-profit entities who have lost 30% or more in revenues from the previous year and who have received PPP or other COVID-19 related assistance in the amount less than $5,000;
• Business who have lost 30% or more in revenues from the previous year and who have received PPP or other COVID-19 related assistance in the amount less than $5,000;
• Disadvantaged Business Enterprises, or non-profit entities who have lost 30% or more in revenues from the previous year and who have received PPP or other COVID-19 related assistance in the excess of $5,000;
• Business who have lost 30% or more in revenues from the previous year and who have received PPP or other COVID-19 related assistance in of the excess of $5,000.
17. What is a Disadvantaged Business Enterprise?
For the purposes of the CRAG Program, “Disadvantaged Business Enterprises” means a:
(1) Women Owned Business,
(2) Minority Owned Business,
(3) Veteran Owned Business, or
(4) Disability Owned Business,
“Women Owned Business” means a business that:
(1) Is owned by a natural person who is a woman; or
(2) Has at least 51 percent of its ownership interest held by one or more women.
“Minority Owned Business” means a business that:
(1) Is owned by a natural person who is a Minority; or
(2) Has at least 51 percent of its ownership interest held by one or more Minority persons.
“Minority” means a natural person of Black American, Hispanic American, Asian, Pacific American, or Native American ethnicity.
“Veteran-owned business” means a business that:
(1) Is owned by a natural person who is a veteran; or
(2) Has at least 51 percent of its ownership interest held by one or more veterans.
“Veteran” has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 417.005.
“Disability-owned business" means a business that is at least 51% owned, managed and controlled by a person with a disability.
18. What happens after applications are prioritized? Updated 8/31/2020
Starting with those applications that meet the criteria for first priority, applicants will be contacted to submit necessary documents to verify their eligibility. Eligibility applications must first be reviewed by Program staff in order to move forward in the application process. Once approved to move forward, all documents and required information must be uploaded and applications submitted by Tuesday, September 14 at 5pm (PST).
19. How many grants are available?
The State anticipates assisting approximately 2,000-3,000 businesses with this Program. The actual amount of assisted businesses will be a function of need per business.
20. Do the grants need to be repaid?
No. Grants are awarded to landlords on behalf of eligible entities without expectation of repayment.
21. What can grant funds be used for?
Grant funds will be paid directly to an applicant’s landlord and can only go towards rental payments and any applicable fees due under a commercial lease, such as CAM charges. Grant funds must NOT be used for any applicable county/state/city taxes or utility payments due under a commercial lease.
22. How much assistance can I receive? Updated 8/31/2020
All approved applicants who can verify a loss of at least 30% in revenue since the previous year are eligible to receive the maximum grant award amount of $10,000 (or the actual cost of rent, whichever is less).